Well, I have completed my first week of my adventure!!…I have to confess that this time last week, i did not think i would still be in Peru now!..i had made some pretty definate decisions that this was not for me and was working out what i was gonna be doing for the next 8 months in the UK with no job or place to live ( altho i could have put a tent up in my garden,  i am sure Monica would have let me use the bathroom every now and then!!)…BUT God is good and He has seen me through!! and I am still here!…It has been an incredibly tough week, and one I never want to relive, but I think and pray that i am beginning to come out the other side!…and have had some really fun times!!

The week has been filled with  country orientation from our team leaders Ruth and Paul!…we have had sessions on how to avoid being killed in a bus crash, how to avoid being mugged at knifepoint and how to increase your chances of surviving an earthquake!…so i feel very equipped now!! :-)…I have just decided to never leave the flat again!!…that is one way of keeping me here i suppose!!..No serioulsly, there were plenty of other sessions which were far less dramatic….like what to do when diahrea ( how is that spelt!) strikes!! We have also had some fun times too….going to Pinkberry, which is the most amazing frozen yoghurt place with the best toppings ever! We also went to a water park one evening, where they have amazing laser show though water ( that is really badly explained, but do not know how else to explain it!!)…just take my word for it…it was good!! – Lima is a really lovely city and Peruvians are such lovely people ( except the ones who mug you at knifepoint!!!)…yesterday i went down to the seafront at about 7.30 and got chatting ( term used loosely as he did not speak english so it was down to my very broken spanish!!) to a jogger…he was just so friendly and patient with my rubbish spanish!!

Anyway…tomorrow i will be joining Jenny and Roland and the boys as all Latin Linkers head of to an old convent for the annual Latin Link Peru confernce, then off to Cusco on Thursday!!…hope to not be affected by the altitude!!!

please, if you get a chance, pray for peace of mind for me..although i feel better today, i am still ‘fragile’ and get extremely homesick at times…but I have always known this was going to be a challenge, where I would really have to call on God, and boy, am i having to do that!!

But I am thanking God for great new friendships, fun times and frozen yoghurt!!!

hasta luego amigos!!!

ps..sorry no photos yet, due to general lack of motivation to take any, but promise to rectify that!!

my first week!

6 thoughts on “my first week!

  1. monica says:

    Jen, you are amazing, I will continue to pray and thank God that in Him you find enough grace and strength for all the challenges ahead of you.

    Frozen yohurt, nice. We have frozen fingers and toes. Still it’s nice and warm in your flat.

  2. Steve Whit says:

    Jen – ditto to Monica’s comment apart from the frozen yogadoodledoo – yuk ……. Chatting to locals, no earthquakes and total avoidance of muggings kind of makes you a local already eh …… Top bombing ……

  3. didichat says:

    Jenny, youare practically fluent, I am impressed.
    I am terribly disappointed with the organisers. I can’t see anything about surviving taxi rides. This needs to be addressed immediately.
    Praying for youeveryday.
    Lots oflove

  4. JillA says:

    Hi Jenny, thinking of you so much and praying of course……God is so good and He WILL bring you through AND you will be amazed at what He will do in you AND through you. Have a great time with Roland and Jenny.

    Jill A

  5. Jean Shearn says:

    Great to hear your latest news. I’ve thought about you lots since you left and will continue to pray. I totally agree with the above comment about taxis! Especially those with cracked windscreens, missing door handles, no seat belts and slightly mad drivers!
    Remember, in eight months time you will be wishing you were still there!
    Lots of love.xx

  6. Jean says:

    It’s so good to get your news. We have thought a lot about you since you left and will certainly continue to pray.
    I totally agree with the comment above regarding taxis. Especially those with cracked windscreens, missing door handles, no seat belts, broken speedometers and slightly mad drivers!
    Just remember that by the time you return in eight months I’m sure you will be wishing you were back in Cusco!
    Lots of love.

Leave a comment